Books I read

Book I Read: Relentless by Karen Lynch

Description on Amazon

Sara Grey’s world shattered ten years ago when her father was brutally murdered. Now at seventeen, she is still haunted by memories of that day, and driven by the need to understand why it happened. She lives a life full of secrets, and her family and friends have no idea of the supernatural world she is immersed in or of Sara’s very powerful gift.

In her quest for answers about her father’s death, Sara takes risks that expose her and her friends to danger, and puts herself into the sights of a sadistic vampire. On the same fateful night she meets Nikolas, a warrior who turns Sara’s world upside down, and who is determined to protect her even if it’s the last thing she wants.

Sara’s life starts to spin out of control as she is hunted by an obsessed vampire, learns that her friends have secrets of their own, and reels from the truth about her own ancestry. Sara has always been fiercely independent, but in order to survive now she must open herself to others, to reveal her deepest secrets. And she must learn to trust the one person capable of breaking down the walls around her.

** This book has language that may be offensive to some readers.

What says I
Firstly, I am not a YA fan. I am a passionate fantasy and historical fiction reader. This book however banged the young adult genre right open for me. In this first book in the series, the protagonist is usually an extremely annoying character for me. But Sara is just adorable. She's strong, fiercely independent, a bit weird and pulls on one's heartstrings. I also think she's one of those people that deserves the sympathy but never craves or accepts it.
Then there's Nicolas. He's incredibly annoying and overbearing but quickly grows on one. Sara and Nicolas' story speeds up very quickly from there.
Ms Lynch is an incredible writer. She writes fast and tight prose with an acceptance that her audience will color in the story as they go. I am a fan of beautiful prose but I've found that YA does not require much description. The writer however, cleverly uses the senses to describe her setting, the characters and the situations.
Another thing I appreciated about this book is that the writer set this book in our world. A place you can pinpoint on our modern day maps and even walk through on Google!
Overall I loved this book. It for me hooked on YA and have become the yardstick for all YA novels in my library.

What says others
Papers Pens & Peridot made me shake my head in agreement all the way. And I agree with Kirkus Reviews that this story is definitely more action than romance. Horse and Reading gushed over this book and Pretty Opinionated agreed. I think it is therefore unanimous!

Where to find the author
Karen Lynch is probably one of the most approachable authors I've ever come across. So visit her website or connect with her on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. We are the Mohiri is her thriving tribe on Facebook for all fans of her series.

Where to find this book
The ebook is free on Amazon and also where I found it. Bookdepository stocks it as well as well as iBooks. I've never listened to the audiobook but you can buy it on Audible.

And that is it from me.

Until next time!

