Books I read

Book I Read: When We Were Very Young by AA Milne

Description on Amazon

A classic celebration of childhood, A. A. Milne’s When We Were Very Young is a collection of poems that have touched the hearts of readers for more than 90 years. His verses sing with a playful innocence, weaving together the worlds of reality and enchanting make-believe. Published two years before Winnie-the-Pooh, careful readers will also discover the very first appearance of the Best Bear in All the World. These treasured poems are perfectly matched by Ernest Shepard's whimsical illustrations, which have delighted countless readers.

These poems have been read and re-read to generations of children, and today, they can still find a cherished place on every bookshelf.

What says I
I adore this book. I think that says enough…but I do feel oblige to share more!! Humor me!
This book as well as the others in this series, should be on every parent's list to read for their children. I never heard these poems until I read it to my kiddos. And we all loved it. Still do!
The writer captured our imaginations with his silly characters and their innocent adventures. Our edition is simply illustrated which allowed all of us the chance to go off on our own tangents in our minds.
My favorite of poems in this book has to be 'Buckingham Palace'! We memorized every one of the 6 verses. Watch this video from 1941 of the poem set to music:

https://youtu.be/W_Z5LpHuXVE

What says others
Readings also loved this book. And The Book Bag also loved it. And Lost in a Book reminded me that we celebrated the 90th anniversary just the other day.

Where to find the author
The author is long since not with us anymore but I love the different ways people keep him alive such as this page from The Lovelys. I do believe this is illegal though but Alison Pask put the whole book up as a downloadable.
AA Milne's country home was up for sale a while ago. This made my imagination run wild! BBC claimed here that the writer and his son saw Winnie the Pooh as a curse. How sad.
Wikipedia and Biography both have some more information about the writer and his career.

Where to find the book
Buy this collection of poems from Amazon or Bookdepository. I bought my copy from Takealot.

That is it for today. Thanks for visiting until next time.

Please leave a comment. I love hearing your experiences and opinions.

